Breakfast for today: Pumpkin Blueberry Bread in a Bowl

Pumpkin and Blueberry Bread in a bowl.

Pumpkin and Blueberry Bread in a bowl.

I love breakfast! It is my favourite meal of the day and occasionally have breakfast for dinner. No matter how hard I try I can’t figure out how some people can start their day with just a coffee or nothing until coffee break or even lunch, especially while farming. My tummy just yells in protest if I think about skipping breakfast! I spent a few months WOOF’ing on a tiny farm in St. Christaud in the SW of France when I first travelled around Europe. Breakfast there, thankfully was a full affair and it got me hooked on beginning my day with oats. We would all sit down together in the back garden after feeding the chickens and have a bowl of hot/cold milk adding oats, raisins, chocolate or what ever you wanted to the mix with a slab of Johanna’s homemade bread and jam. In Ireland and when I first arrived in Australia during their winter I would have porridge for breakfast everyday. I have tried so many different varieties – Nutella and Peanut Butter, chocolate, blueberries, cinnamon, sautéed bananas or grated apple. Now though with the summer approaching and it being in the high twenties by early morning having a hot steaming bowl of porridge to start the day isn’t ideal.

Queue “Pumpkin Bread in a Bowl“!

I found this recipe on Chocolate Covered Katie as a healthy breakfast alternative and it is a bit like mixing porridge, muesli and a smoothie all together and you eat it cold. I fiddled with the recipe a bit and this is the version I like best but it’s a pretty versatile recipe. I am pretty sure you could substitute any type of milk – soy, almond, hazelnut or any type of cereal and change up the berries. It is worth the fiddle to make it work for you, to your own taste as it is filling and it leaves you wanting more.

Ingredients:

3 heaped tbsp of canned or cooked pumpkin purée
1 lg handful of frozen or fresh blueberries
3/4 cup of fresh low fat milk
3/4 cup of oats ( the original recipe says you can use any flake cereal – spelt, bran, corn)
1/2 tsp of vanilla essence
1/2 tsp of cinnamon Honey to serve
Opt: chocolate chips or pecans

Method:

Pop everything together minus the honey into a blender and press go. Whiz it all together until it is of a smoothie consistency. Pour it into a bowl and pop it into the fridge for at least 10 minutes. The longer you leave it, the thicker it becomes. I like leaving it for about 45 minutes and it goes like a pudding. Spooning over a tsp of honey and enjoy. The first time I made this I mixed chocolate chips and the honey into the mixture and found it too sweet so I don’t add chocolate anymore but if you want to add it in I would put it on top or don’t add other sweeteners into the mixture but add them just before you eat them so you can test it adjust the sweetness. The blueberries help to make it slightly tart and with the honey it is like eating a blueberry and pumpkin bread for breakfast in a bowl.

Leave a Reply

